01 February 2014

We have reached the penultimate day, which may or may not provoke a profusion of nervous posts but, in the event that I do end up subjecting you to excessive amounts of anxiety fueled drivel, I hereby apologise in advance. You don't deserve it because you have been AMAZING!!

When I started the blog I thought we might get a small flurry of interest, followed by a handful of family and super-close friends checking in and out once every couple of days... but we have been blown away by the core of loyal support: 21 wonderful people signed up to receive each post by email and a further 40-60 people check in with the blog every day. On big occasions, like the egg retrieval and the embryo transfer, the visitor numbers have risen upwards of 160 and there have been random days where the daily tally soars for no apparent reason. I can see what countries people are visiting from and I have a fairly good idea who some of them are - I would like to send a little shout out to Australia, South Africa, Canada, the US and the UAE, you don't know how much it has meant to me to see your little flags reappearing day after day - I will never forget that you quietly held my hand the whole way through. We have also had some regular visitors from countries like Romania, Belgium, Thailand, Singapore, Botswana etc., (where we're fairly sure we don't know anyone); this, unexpected, kindness of strangers has been profoundly touching. Britain has, of course, topped the daily charts and we have been relentlessly humbled by the home-crowd - people say that it's 'at times like these you find out who your real friends are' and I had always thought of it as an ominous expression but - as it turns out, we have MORE real friends than we thought - which is such an indescribably heart-warming blessing that I'm at a loss to even try. I have never blogged before and I know that these are not excessive numbers but they are far, far higher than anything I ever imagined and they have been a lifeline. Each one of you has helped me to try and find a little humour and perspective in an experience which is not actually all that funny, (you don't say!), and probably quite easy to blow out of all conceivable proportion, (trust me, I am capable!). Between you, you have encouraged me to put one foot in front of the other with relative grace and I can't thank you enough - my worst fear, besides the obvious, was turning into a terrified, wild-eyed, monster which I am certain I would've done without your support - so you have saved me from myself and you have buffered Archie from a tornado of unchecked hormones. Together you have been 'Team Maybe Baby' and you have been the very, very best team in the whole wide world. I will never be able to think about you without filling up with tears - I will never forget your compassion and I will never stop being grateful.  Thank you for the bottom of my heart and beyond.  

2 thoughts on “01 February 2014

  1. You have made me cry everyday, Scott knows when I am reading your blog because I will be stuck to my emails with silent tears rolling down my face, you nearly got me in the middle of a wedding when I checked my emails 😊 I have everything crossed for tomorrow and if I prayed I would pray all night long….. What the hell it’s never to late to throw a prayer up there. Thinking of you both. Lots of love xxxx

    1. Awh Carolyn, I’m making you cry, you’re making me cry – between us we are awash with tears. Thank you so much for keeping me company and not leaving me to cry on my own. Less than 24hrs to go and we will know whether we are are crying for a premature ending or crying for a new beginning. Either way – you should be proud – I reckon that you have ticked off your ‘good deed’ requirement for at least a year! You really deserve a Team Maybe Baby badge of honour but I am not renowned for my artistic flare so you’ll probably just have to settle for the sentiment. Lots and lots of love and thanks xxx

Leave a comment